MINING AND MINERAL PROCESSING ENGINEERING (MMPE) Department

What We Do

We provide quality training, research and innovation in order to produce leaders in the fields of mining and minerals engineering to suit the needs of the mining and minerals industry, government and governmental agencies and the academic world.

  • Name Position Official TTU Email
    Arthur A. Ndegwa (CV) COD & Senior Lecturer aandegwa@ttu.ac.ke
    James O. Ochieng (Profile | CV) Lecturer james.ochieng@ttu.ac.ke
    Bernard Muchunku (Profile | CV) Lecturer bmuchunku@ttu.ac.ke
    Michael N. Kabugu (Profile | CV) Lecturer mic.kabugu@ttu.ac.ke
    Bernard Alunda Lecturer benalunda10@ttu.ac.ke
    Nashon J. Adero (Profile | CV) Lecturer nashon.adero@ttu.ac.ke
    Githiria M. Joseph (Profile) Assistant Lecturer j.muchiri07@ttu.ac.ke
    Faith T. Chebet Teaching Assistant ictumwet@ttu.ac.ke
    Clif M. Gekonde Teaching Assistant gekondeclif@ttu.ac.ke
    Dalmus O. Mauti Teaching Assistant dmauti@ttu.ac.ke
    Eric M. Kinyua Teaching Assistant eric.kinyua@ttu.ac.ke
    Kasomo R. Muthui Teaching Assistant kasomo.richard@ttu.ac.ke
    Samuel A. Mjomba Chief Technologist mjomba@ttu.ac.ke
    Gladys Muchai Nyambu Technologist gladysnyambu@ttu.ac.ke
    Joshua O. Owiyo Technologist josh2014@ttu.ac.ke
    Victor O. Orwa Technologist v.orwa@ttu.ac.ke
    Matata K. Musomba Technologist matata.musomba@ttu.ac.ke
    Sophia K. Kharuba Secretary ksophia@ttu.ac.ke
    Teresa W. Ngunje Messenger/Cleaner twngunje@ttu.ac.ke
    Browne Mwazoka Technician brownemwazoka@ttu.ac.ke
  • Name Position Email Address
    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen I. Schoenherr (Profile) Full professor at Zittau/Goerlitz University of Applied Sciences, Dept. of Natural Sciences, MVSR Research Laboratory, Institute of Process Engineering, Peat, and Natural Matter Research, Germany J.Schoenherr@hszg.de
    Dr. Bunda Besa (Profile) Lecturer / Head, Mining Engineering Department, University of Zambia, School of Mines bundabesa@yahoo.com or bbesa@unza.zm 
    Dr. Victor Patson Mutambo (Profile) Lecturer, School of Mines, University of Zambia
    Prof. Swatantra Prakash (Profile) Chief Scientist and Professor ACSIR-NML, CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory sprksh@yahoo.com
    Prof. Dr. Kallenowsky, Thomas (Profile) University of Applied Sciences Zittau / Görlitz, Faculty Mathematics / Natural Sciences physicist
    Dipl.-Ing. Carsten Lauer (Profile) lauer@htw-dresden.de
    Prof. Radhe Krishna (Profile) Professor, School of Mines, Department of Mining Engineering, University of Zambia
    Prof. Dr-Ing Newton Amegbey (Profile) Professor, University Of Mines and Technology (UMAT), Ghana
    Mensah Anthony Armstrong (Profile) Senior Lecturer, Department of Geomatic Engineering, University Of Mines and Technology(UMAT), Ghana
    Prof.  Sulemana Al-Hassan (Profile) Pro Vice Chancellor, University Of Mines and Technology(UMAT), Ghana
  • Short history of our Department:

    The Mining and Mineral Processing Engineering (MMPE) Programme was established and admitted its first students during the 2005/2006 academic year in the Department of Mechanical Engineering of the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT). The Department was in the then Faculty of Engineering which was later transformed into the College of Engineering and Technology (COETEC).  The duration of the BSc degree in Mining and Mineral Processing Engineering course is five (5) years. The MMPE programme is the first ever mining engineering course to be established in Kenya and to date only JKUAT and its constituent college, the Taita Taveta University (TTU), offer this course.

    In 2008 JKUAT established a new campus near Voi Town known as Taita Taveta Campus and set up the Department of Mining and Mineral Processing Engineering. The purpose was to locate the MMPE programme right inside the gemstone and iron ore mining belts where students would be daily interacting with mining activities and issues for the benefit of their practical training. In fact the largest ever mining operation in Kenya, the Base Titanium Ltd, is in Kwale County neighbouring Taita Taveta County.

    In 2011 the Taita Taveta Campus was elevated to Taita Taveta University College as a constituent college of JKUAT then now Taita Taveta University. The pioneer class of the MMPE programme completed the five-year course in December 2010 and were conferred degrees during the JKUAT graduation ceremony held on 29th July 2011. The first cohort of TTUC students of   MMPE graduated on 30th November 2012. By the next graduation ceremony in June 2015 the programme will have produced a total of 129 graduates for the emerging extractive industry in Kenya.

    1. Book of Abstracts - Publications